Escape to Willow Cottage by Bella Osborne

33651984

image via goodreads

synopsis:

The Escape to Willow Cottage was originally published as a four-part serial. This is the complete story in one package.

A cosy and heartwarming seasonal romance, perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley.

Beth is running away. With her young son Leo to protect, Willow Cottage is the lifeline she so desperately needs. Overlooking the village green in a beautiful Cotswolds idyll, Beth sees a warm, caring and safe place for little Leo.

When she finally uncovers the cottage from underneath the boughs of a weeping willow tree, Beth realises this is far more of a project than she bargained for and the locals are more than a little eccentric! A chance encounter with gruff Jack, who appears to be the only male in the village under thirty, leaves the two of them at odds but it’s not long before Beth realises that Jack has hidden talents that could help her repair more than just Willow Cottage.

Over the course of four seasons, Beth realises that broken hearts can be mended, and sometimes love can be right under your nose…

Escape to Willow Cottage was originally digitally published as a four-part serial under the title Willow Cottage. This is the complete story.

 

review:

Oy, this is a super tricky one for me to review.

This book was previously written in four parts, one for each season within the year (which really appealed to me), and now it is being published as one complete story. And at almost 500 pages, I really had to push through for a book that was just ok for me.

The beginning book was by far my least favorite. The main characters of Beth and Jack are introduced to us in a such a way that makes them less than likeable. (And I generally don’t mind unlikable characters, I feel they usually add some depth to books. But these two were just kinda not nice people at all😬).

As we get into the Christmas (winter) part of the story, things begin to look up. You get to know the characters a bit better, they seem to chill out a bit, and the description of snow at Christmas time is pretty lovely. I really liked Fergus, a deaf career Minecrafter (my boys are obsessed with Minecraft, so that was fun!), little Leo, Ernie and Doris the dog.

There are some deeper themes which are touched on, this is not all just light reading here. I think the author did a good job of showing the sense of dread and fear experienced by the main character.

Also, a pet peeve of mine, there were several issues in this book that were caused by assumptions and misunderstandings and could have been cleared up by a single conversation, but the character’s communication skills were lacking a bit.

I’d rate this overall between 2.5 and 3 stars, however this book does have very high ratings so please take that into consideration – it could be just me! I would recommend picking up the first story to see if you’d like to invest your time and money into the other three parts.

Thank you to Netgalley, the author, and the publisher for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s