Just Between Us by Rebecca Drake


Four suburban mothers and friends conspire to cover up a deadly crime in this heart-stopping novel of suspense in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and Lisa Unger.

Alison, Julie, Sarah, Heather. Four friends living the suburban ideal. Their jobs are steady, their kids are healthy. They’re as beautiful as their houses. But each of them has a dirty little secret, and hidden behind the veneer of their perfect lives is a crime and a mystery that will consume them all.

Everything starts to unravel when Alison spots a nasty bruise on Heather’s wrist. She shares her suspicions with Julie and Sarah, compelling all three to investigate what looks like an increasingly violent marriage. As mysterious injuries and erratic behavior mount, Heather can no longer deny the abuse, but she refuses to leave her husband. Desperate to save her, Alison and the others dread the phone call telling them that she’s been killed. But when that call finally comes, it’s not Heather who’s dead. In a moment they’ll come to regret, the women must decide what lengths they’ll go to in order to help a friend.

Just Between Us is a thrilling glimpse into the underbelly of suburbia, where not all neighbors can be trusted, and even the closest friends keep dangerous secrets. You never really know what goes on in another person’s mind, or in their marriage.


This is a tightly written, suspenseful read about female friendship and the dynamics of relationships.

Certainly, as a born and raised Pittsburgher, my favorite part of this book was that it was written in my hometown. The city takes on a life of its own and almost becomes a singular character in the story. The details were well done and I loved reading about locations that I could picture in my head. Additionally, as a work from home mom, this one was very relatable.

This book will question how far you will go for those you love. There were times when I was screaming at the characters in this book – a lot of poor decisions were made – but when you can have that kind of a visceral response, you know you’re reading something good.

By the final chapters, my heart was racing out of my chest. I had no idea how it would conclude, but the ending was one of my favorite parts of this here book.

My one complaint is that, while the chapters were broken up from the perspectives of all four friends, I had somewhat of a difficult time keeping track of who was narrating. I believe it could have been a bit more focused on one or two characters perspectives to get a more fleshed out understanding of the story, but I do see why the author chose to tell the story this way.

Thank you to Netgalley, the author and the publisher for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

4 stars.


  1. Sharlene Hammond · January 18

    Love that this is set in the Burgh! Added it to my list a little while ago when I saw you mention it on Goodreads. Great review! Can’t wait to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s