Iron Flame


Book Description

Discover the instant #1 New York Times bestseller! Now optioned for TV by Amazon Studios. Accolades for Fourth Wing Amazon Best Books of the Year, #4 • Apple Best Books of the Year 2023 • Barnes & Noble Best Fantasy Book of 2023 (Fourth Wing and Iron Flame) • NPR “Books We Love” 2023 • Audible Best Books of 2023 • Hudson Book of the Year • Google Play Best Books of 2023 • Indigo Best Books of 2023 • Waterstones Book of the Year finalist • Goodreads Choice Award, semi-finalist • Newsweek Staffers’ Favorite Books of 2023 • Paste Magazine's Best Books of 2023 “The first year is when some of us lose our lives. The second year is when the rest of us lose our humanity.” —Xaden Riorson Everyone expected Violet Sorrengail to die during her first year at Basgiath War College—Violet included. But Threshing was only the first impossible test meant to weed out the weak-willed, the unworthy, and the unlucky. Now the real training begins, and Violet’s already wondering how she’ll get through. It’s not just that it’s grueling and maliciously brutal, or even that it’s designed to stretch the riders’ capacity for pain beyond endurance. It’s the new vice commandant, who’s made it his personal mission to teach Violet exactly how powerless she is–unless she betrays the man she loves. Although Violet’s body might be weaker and frailer than everyone else’s, she still has her wits—and a will of iron. And leadership is forgetting the most important lesson Basgiath has taught her: Dragon riders make their own rules. But a determination to survive won’t be enough this year. Because Violet knows the real secret hidden for centuries at Basgiath War College—and nothing, not even dragon fire, may be enough to save them in the end. The Empyrean series is best enjoyed in order. Reading Order: Book #1 Fourth Wing Book #2 Iron Flame




Summary of Iron Flame


Book Description

Disclaimer: This summary is an unofficial synopsis of the book "The Idea of You" by Rebecca Yarros. It is not endorsed by the author or publisher. This summary is intended to provide a brief overview of the book's plot and themes. It may not capture all the details or nuances of the original work. About this book: In Iron Flame, the second installment in Rebecca Yarros' Empyrean series, Violet Sorrengail and her fellow dragon rider trainees return to Basgiath War College for their second year. They barely made it through the grueling "Threshing" initiation in the first novel, Fourth Wing, and now confront even more intense training and a ruthless new vice commandant eager to break Violet. Here are the main points of the story: Violet has a secret: she can hear dragons speak. This ability is forbidden information at Basgiath, and its discovery could have disastrous implications. New Vice Commandant: Kieran Rath, a vicious and unforgiving vice commandant, arrives at the training camp, causing mayhem. He focuses on Violet, using her physical deficiencies and threatening her loved ones to force her obedience. secret Truths: As Violet endures Rath's wrath, she begins to discover secret truths about Basgiath's past and the true purpose of the dragon riders. These facts call into question everything she had previously believed. The Luminary: As the struggle against the wolven troops heats up, a powerful item known as "the Luminary" becomes increasingly important. Violet and her pals embark on a treacherous expedition to rescue it, encountering dangerous obstacles and finding new truths along the way. Romance and Friendship: Despite the continual danger, Violet takes solace in her budding relationship with fellow dragon rider Xaden Riorson. Their relationship strengthens, and a sexual spark develops between them. The battle, however, threatens their connection, as does Rath's constant menace. Survival and Sacrifice: The second year tests Violet and her comrades to the limit. They encounter physical and mental obstacles, deal with loss and sacrifice, and must learn to trust their instincts and one another in order to live. The climax of the story may involve: Violet may eventually have to confront Rath and expose his wickedness, risking banishment or perhaps death. Violet's ability to understand the dragons may play a critical part in a vital battle against the wolven armies. A bombshell revelation: Violet's discovery of secret truths could mark a watershed moment in the conflict or call into question the very structure of the dragon rider order. Iron Flame is a narrative of resilience, camaraderie, and the enduring relationship between people and dragons. It promises high-stakes action, political intrigue, and a budding romance, making fans anxious for the next installment in the Empyrean series.




A Darkness Forged in Fire


Book Description

Rejected by their own kind for bearing the mark of the Shadow Monarch, the Iron Elves chose instead to serve with the human armies of the Calahrian Empire, hoping through their dedication and discipline to wipe out the stain of their birth. Their reputation is legendary -- until their commander, Konowa Swiftdragon, takes it upon himself -- for the best of reasons -- to assassinate the Viceroy. Court-martialled and exiled to the forest he despises, his beloved regiment disgraced, dishonoured and disbanded, Konowa finds himself suddenly recalled and ordered to re-form the Iron Elves for one last reconnaissance mission. But the new Iron Elves are not at all the same as they were before, and the mission is a suicidal one, with more at stake than Konowa could possibly have imagined. For the Shadow Monarch and her allies have harnessed destructive forces with the power to tear worlds apart -- and those who bear her mark have a destiny greater than they know. So begins an heroic journey in the company of a motley band of misfits, rebels and outcasts, with a central character whose engaging, brilliantly realised blend of cynicism, dry humour, duty and anguish make him unlike any other in fantasy fiction.




Iron, Fire and Ice


Book Description

Have you read everything George R.R. Martin has every written? Do you know what in Game of Thrones is based in real history? A young pretender raises an army to take the throne. Learning of his father’s death, the adolescent, dashing and charismatic and descended from the old kings of the North, vows to avenge him. He is supported in this war by his mother, who has spirited away her two younger sons to safety. Against them is the queen, passionate, proud, and strong-willed and with more of the masculine virtues of the time than most men. She too is battling for the inheritance of her young son, not yet fully grown but already a sadist who takes delight in watching executions. Sound familiar? It may read like the plot of Game of Thrones. Yet that was also the story of the bloodiest battle in British history, fought at the culmination of the War of the Roses. George RR Martin’s bestselling novels are rife with allusions, inspirations, and flat-out copies of real-life people, events, and places of medieval and Tudor England and Europe. The Red Wedding? Based on actual events in Scottish history. The poisoning of Joffrey Baratheon? Eerily similar to the death of William the Conqueror’s grandson. The Dothraki? Also known as Huns, Magyars, Turks, and Mongols. Join Ed West, as he explores all of Martin’s influences, from religion to war to powerful women. Discover the real history behind the phenomenon and see for yourself that truth is stranger than fiction.




Iron Flame


Book Description

Hunger Games meets House of Dragon in this epic fantasy romance series. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Sarah J Maas and dark academia.[Bokinfo].




Flaming Brands


Book Description




Iron & Fire


Book Description

1675 -- Plymouth Colony -- Verity Parker promised to look after her family. Raised among the bookshops and turmoil of Reformation London, Verity now finds herself in Puritan New England, where she must learn to keep her head down and her mouth shut, or risk dire consequences. The only person who values her tenacity is Kit, the heretical ironworker she has been forbidden to see. When King Philip's War breaks out, Verity must stay silent as the Puritan elders spread hateful rhetoric about the "savages" in the forest. When she witnesses a young girl die in childbirth, Verity must stand by as neighbors blame God's vengeance. But when tragedy strikes her own home, Verity must choose between her duty to her family and her love for Kit. Will she choose to keep the peace, or will she defy the leaders of the colony for a chance at happiness? Set against the backdrop of King Philip's War, the bloodiest war per capita in American history, Iron & Fire explores the experience of a clever, educated woman at a time when being so often resulted in death. Perfect for fans of Amy Belding Brown's Flight of the Sparrow, or Elizabeth George Speare's The Witch of Blackbird Pond, Iron & Fire was written for those who read the original American Girl series as children and are now all grown up.




Irons in the Fire


Book Description

In this collection John McPhee once agains proves himself as a master observer of all arenas of life as well a powerful and important writer.




Iron & Fire


Book Description

Alliances are forged and broken, friendships shattered, and despite the odds stacked against them, two hearts collide in this explosive sequel to Silk & Steel. From his mother's cage to a human one, but Lysander's captors are the least of his concerns. Rumors of a monstrous bronze dragon ripple through human camps, a dragon tearing great holes in the world as though searching for something... or someone. It's just a matter of time before the bronze chief, Dokul, finds Lysander and makes good on his promises. And should he find him, Lysander knows Dokul will not be merciful. Amidst the greatest of elven victories, Eroan failed. Failed his people, failed himself, and failed the dragon who saved him. But he will not falter. The dragonkin are in disarray, there will never be a greater opportunity to strike. Eroan Ilanea will not fail his people again. But when rumors of the dragon prince's survival reach him, he must choose: Fight for his people or fight for the prince who nobody thought to save?




Great And Precious Things


Book Description

How do you define yourself when others have already decided who you are? Six years ago, when Camden Daniels came back from war without his younger brother, no one in the small town of Alba, Colorado, would forgive him—especially his father. He left, swearing never to return. But a desperate message from his father brings it all back. The betrayal. The pain. And the need to go home again. But home is where the one person he still loves is waiting. Willow. The one woman he can never have, because there are secrets buried in Alba that are best left in the dark... Great and Precious Things is a heart-wrenching forbidden romance about family, betrayal, and ultimately how far we’re willing to go on behalf of those we love and who need us most.