The Deepest Well


Book Description

A pioneering physician reveals how childhood stress leads to lifelong health problems, and what we can do to break the cycle.




Toxic Childhood Stress


Book Description

*Previously published as The Deepest Well* ‘Finally after thirty years, I finally understood . . . this book holds the answers you’ve been searching for.’ Kerry Hudson The Surgeon General of California reveals pioneering research on how childhood stress leads to lifelong health problems and what we can do to break the cycle. Perfect for fans of The Body Keeps the Score by Bessel van der Kolk, this eye-opening book includes a free Adverse Childhood Experience test and looks at the widespread crisis of trauma and childhood adversity through the objective lens of science and medicine, providing a roadmap for deeper understanding and change. It is vital now more than ever, as a result of the Coronavirus pandemic, that we find a way to address, understand and heal trauma. Two thirds of us have experienced at least one adverse childhood experience, from the likes of bereavement and divorce to abuse and neglect. In Toxic Childhood Stress Dr Burke Harris reveals the science behind childhood adversity and offers a new way of understanding the adverse events that affect us throughout our lifetime. Based on her own groundbreaking clinical work and public leadership, Dr Burke Harris shows us how we can disrupt this cycle through interventions that help retrain the brain and body, foster resilience, and help children, families, and adults live healthier, happier lives. When a young boy walked into Dr Nadine Burke Harris's clinic he looked healthy for a preschooler. But he was seven, and hadn't grown a centimetre since a traumatic event when he was four. At that moment Dr Burke Harris knew that her gut feeling about a connection between childhood stress and future ill health was more than just a hunch – and she began her journey into groundbreaking research with stunning results.




Childhood Disrupted


Book Description

An examination of the link between Adverse Childhood Events (ACE's) and adult illnesses.




The Deep Well of Time


Book Description




Scared Sick


Book Description

"In Scared Sick, childhood expert and therapist Robin Karr-Morse and lawyer and strategist Meredith Wiley propose that chronic fear experienced in infancy and early childhood lies at the root of numerous diseases as well as emotional and behavioral pathologies in adults."--Jacket.




Water from a Deep Well


Book Description

Gerald L. Sittser carves out a new discipline that blends spirituality and Christian history--spiritual history. He overviews Christian history through the lens of spirituality, looking at what we can learn about the spiritual life from various figures and eras.




Adverse Childhood Experiences


Book Description

Adverse Childhood Experiences: Using Evidence to Advance Research, Practice, Policy, and Prevention defines ACEs, provides a summary of the past 20 years of ACEs research, as well as provides guidance for the future directions for the field. It includes a review of the original ACEs Study, definitions of ACEs, and how ACEs are typically assessed. Other content includes a review of how ACEs are related to mental and physical health outcome, the neurodevelopmental mechanisms linking ACEs to psychopathology, sexual violence and sexual health outcomes, and violence across the lifespan. Important and contemporary issues in the field, like reconsidering how ACEs should be defined and assessed, the appropriateness of routine ACEs screening, thinking about ACEs from a public health and global perspective, strategies for preventing ACEs, understanding ACEs and trauma-informed care and resilience, and the importance of safe stable and nurturing environments for children are discussed. Adverse Childhood Experiences is a useful evidence-based resource for professionals working with children and families, including physicians, nurses, social workers, psychologists, lawyers, judges, as well as public health leaders, policy makers, and government delegates. Reviews the past 20 years of ACEs research Examines ACEs and mental and physical health Discusses the neurodevelopment mechanisms of ACEs and psychopathology Examines ACEs and violence across the lifespan Reconsiders the definition and assessment of ACEs Examines the issue of routine ACEs screening Discusses ACEs from a public health and global perspective Summarizes effective ACEs prevention, trauma-informed care, and resilience Provides recommendations for the future directions of the ACEs field




The Body Keeps the Score


Book Description

Originally published by Viking Penguin, 2014.




7 Feasts


Book Description

What’s the story behind all those feasts? It’s hard to know when you read about the Feast of Booths why exactly it matters for your life. What in the world is the Feast of Trumpets supposed to be teaching you? And, in this case, the text itself doesn’t tell you. You need a resource, a guide that can help you understand the cultural significance and how these feasts relate to the rest of the Bible. That’s exactly what Erin Davis does in this new 8-week Bible study, 7 Feasts. She’ll teach you: The significance of these feasts and why God wanted His people to celebrate How each of them point to Jesus and His work in redemption Why all of this matters for our lives today You will discover that passages you once skimmed over are now rich and meaningful in your life today.




The Adverse Childhood Experiences Recovery Workbook


Book Description

Practical skills for healing the hidden wounds of childhood trauma We’re all a product of our childhood, and if you’re like most people, you have experienced some form of childhood trauma. Adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) are at the root of nearly all mental health disorders, including depression, anxiety, panic disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), and attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD). Memories associated with ACEs imprint on a child’s brain, and can manifest themselves mentally and physically throughout adulthood—even decades after the traumatic incident. So, how can you begin healing the deep wounds of ACEs and build strength and resilience? In this innovative workbook, trauma specialist Glenn Schiraldi presents practical, evidence-based skills to help you heal from ACEs. In addition to dealing with the symptoms, you’ll learn to address the root cause of your suffering, change the way your brain responds to stress and the outside world, and soothe troubling memories. Using the trauma-informed and resilience-building practices in this book, you will: Understand how toxic childhood stress is affecting your health Rewire disturbing imprints in your brain using cutting-edge skills Learn how to regulate stress and emotional arousal Discover why traditional psychological approaches might not be helping Know when and how to find the right kind of therapy Childhood trauma doesn’t have to define you for the rest of your life. With this book as your guide, you will be able to make fundamental changes and replace needless suffering with self-care, security, and contentment.