Innovation Engine


Book Description

How to implement an innovation engine in any organization Innovation is often sought and is in high demand today. At the same time it is often misunderstood and lacks committed sponsorship. Today, most teams at the top need an innovation capability in a manner that works in tandem with their performance/operations management. Packed with actionable ideas, references, links, and resources, Innovation Engine meets that need. Reveals how to develop strategy, road maps, and processes for innovation execution Provides high level implementation guidance on executing innovation, something companies are struggling with globally Explores how today's companies can create a long-term sustainable corporate culture by also using an innovation engine Explains how to use innovation to keep employees engaged and motivated Written for executives, business leaders, CFOs, and CIOs Showing readers how to create a business case for innovation and a supporting innovation linked to business vision and goals, Innovation Engine clearly reveals how to reduce time-to-market, while expanding the "idea landscape" and building a pipeline of corporate innovators.




Engines of Innovation


Book Description

In Engines of Innovation, Holden Thorp and Buck Goldstein make the case for the pivotal role of research universities as agents of societal change. They argue that universities must use their vast intellectual and financial resources to confront global challenges such as climate change, extreme poverty, childhood diseases, and an impending worldwide shortage of clean water. They provide not only an urgent call to action but also a practical guide for our nation's leading institutions to make the most of the opportunities available to be major players in solving the world's biggest problems. A preface and a new chapter by the authors address recent developments, including innovative licensing strategies, developments in online education, and the value of arts and sciences in an entrepreneurial society.




The Innovative Engine


Book Description

The Innovative Engine is a story about a train who takes young writers on an adventure. Along the way, the young writers hear "true" stories from fairy tale characters and decide to write a blog about it.




The Innovation Engine for Growth


Book Description

Written by experts on innovation and growth, this book provides the necessary tools to systematically develop and sustain profitable innovation pipelines. In a hypercompetitive global market, businesses must innovate to survive; yet the failure rate for innovation is extremely high. Strategists and thought leaders, Cheryl Perkins and Dr. Sanjay Mazumdar, offer a sophisticated yet practical approach for implementing successful innovation. Leveraging thought-provoking questions and powerful templates, the book outlines how companies can leverage core strengths, build internal innovation capabilities, partner effectively, and identify the promising areas to pursue. In addition, the book highlights emerging innovations in several major industries, providing fodder to fuel creative thinking and exploration of possible applications across a variety of different industries. Managers and leaders will welcome the innovation insights and examples, as well as the templates to build an organization’s plan to diagnose patterns of innovation, identify opportunities, and apply emerging innovations in their own industries and businesses.




Innovation Engine


Book Description

Adapted from inGenius: A Crash Course on Creativity by international bestselling author and Stanford University Professor Tina Seelig, Ph.D., Innovation Engine distills a dozen years of teaching creativity and entrepreneurship into an interactive guide that turns our natural curiosity and imagination into concrete and action-oriented concepts that can be put into practice immediately. Seelig illustrates how motivation, mind-set, physical environment and social situations can work together to enhance creativity. She explains that creativity lies at the intersection of our internal world (knowledge, imagination, and attitude) and external environment (resources, habitats, and culture). By understanding how these factors fit together and influence one another, Innovation Engine provides the tools to jump-start our own innovation engines and allows us to look at every word, object, idea and moment as an opportunity for ingenuity.




The University of Illinois


Book Description

The founding of the university in 1867 created a unique community in what had been a prairie. Within a few years, this creative mix of teachers and scholars produced innovations in agriculture, engineering and the arts that challenged old ideas and stimulated dynamic new industries. Projects ranging from the Mosaic web browser to the discovery of Archaea and pioneering triumphs in women's education and wheelchair accessibility have helped shape the university's mission into a double helix of innovation and real-world change. These essays explore the university's celebrated accomplishments and historic legacy, candidly assessing both its successes and its setbacks. Experts and students tell the eye-opening stories of campus legends and overlooked game-changers, of astonishing technical and social invention, of incubators of progress as diverse as the Beckman Institute and Ebertfest. Contributors: James R. Barrett, George O. Batzli, Claire Benjamin, Jeffrey D. Brawn, Jimena Canales, Stephanie A. Dick, Poshek Fu, Marcelo H. Garcia, Lillian Hoddeson, Harry Liebersohn, Claudia Lutz, Kathleen Mapes, Vicki McKinney, Elisa Miller, Robert Michael Morrissey, Bryan E. Norwood, Elizabeth H. Pleck, Leslie J. Reagan, Susan M. Rigdon, David Rosenboom, Katherine Skwarczek, Winton U. Solberg, Carol Spindel, William F. Tracy, and Joy Ann Williamson-Lott.




inGenius


Book Description

Imaginative. Innovative. Ingenious. These words describe the visionaries we all respect and admire. And they can describe you, too. Contrary to common belief, creativity is not a gift some of us are born with. It is a skill that all of us can learn. International bestselling author and award-winning Stanford University educator Tina Seelig has worked with some of the business world’s best and brightest, who are now among the decision-makers at companies such as Google, Genentech, IBM, and Cisco. In inGenius she expertly demystifies creativity, offering a set of tools and guidelines that anyone can use. A fantastic resource for everyone wanting to achieve their ambitions, and for readers of Jason Fried’s Rework, and Seth Godin’s Poke the Box.




Leading Innovation: How to Jump Start Your Organization's Growth Engine


Book Description

Leading Innovation presents a unique, holistic approach to creating innovation at all levels of your organization. Authors Jeff DeGraff and Shawn Quinn have created a real-world, how-to playbook of integrated creativity tools and techniques for understanding where innovation comes from and harnessing its power to create a culture where real growth happens on a constant basis. Based on DeGraff's proven methods-which he teaches in his innovation program at the University of Michigan Ross School of Business and has applied at Fortune 500 companies around the world-this breakthrough guide focuses on systematically integrating business practices and connecting them to the value propositions they produce. You'll discover how to diagnose obstacles to innovation, realistically assess your options, and develop an integrated program of action that can be adjusted to meet the needs of any group, department, or business unit throughout your organization. You'll learn the 7 key steps to double-digit growth, sparking innovation in your: Leadership-teams, development, and behavior Strategic planning-identifying emerging opportunities Organizational culture and competency development Performance management processes-resource allocation, portfolio management Innovation incubation processes-stage-gate development processes, innovation networks Human resource management-staffing, team building, organizational learning Throughout, insightful case studies demonstrate how these results-driven methods are supported by senior leadership at GE, Reuters, Coca-Cola, Pfizer, Johnson & Johnson, Eaton, and other leading innovators.




Making the Global Economy Work for Everyone


Book Description

The Covid-19 pandemic has revealed the weaknesses of globalisation, exposed the fragility of the current growth model, and accelerated the ongoing tech revolution. This book is an in-depth analysis of these weaknesses and fragilities in the context of sustainability. Economist Marco Magnani suggests the possibility of pursuing a more balanced, environmentally and socially sustainable growth while defusing today’s apocalyptic alarmism about climate change, energy and demographic constraints, and the future of work. To make the global economy work for everyone.




Invisible Engines


Book Description

Harnessing the power of software platforms: what executives and entrepreneurs must know about how to use this technology to transform industries and how to develop the strategies that will create value and drive profits. Software platforms are the invisible engines that have created, touched, or transformed nearly every major industry for the past quarter century. They power everything from mobile phones and automobile navigation systems to search engines and web portals. They have been the source of enormous value to consumers and helped some entrepreneurs build great fortunes. And they are likely to drive change that will dwarf the business and technology revolution we have seen to this point. Invisible Engines examines the business dynamics and strategies used by firms that recognize the transformative power unleashed by this new revolution—a revolution that will change both new and old industries. The authors argue that in order to understand the successes of software platforms, we must first understand their role as a technological meeting ground where application developers and end users converge. Apple, Microsoft, and Google, for example, charge developers little or nothing for using their platforms and make most of their money from end users; Sony PlayStation and other game consoles, by contrast, subsidize users and make more money from developers, who pay royalties for access to the code they need to write games. More applications attract more users, and more users attract more applications. And more applications and more users lead to more profits. Invisible Engines explores this story through the lens of the companies that have mastered this platform-balancing act. It offers detailed studies of the personal computer, video game console, personal digital assistant, smart mobile phone, and digital media software platform industries, focusing on the business decisions made by industry players to drive profits and stay a step ahead of the competition. Shorter discussions of Internet-based software platforms provide an important glimpse into a future in which the way we buy, pay, watch, listen, learn, and communicate will change forever. An electronic version of this book is available under a Creative Commons license.